The Institute has 5 division in various disciplines i.e. Crop Improvement, Crop Production, Crop Protection, BPES, Social Sciences and Extension, Communication and Training.

Crop Improvement

Genetic Resources
Plant Breeding and Genetics

Crop Production

Soil Science and Microbiology
Agricultural Engineering

Crop Protection

Plant Pathology

Biochemistry, Plant Physiology and Environmental Sciences (BPES)

Social Sciences

Agricultural Economics
Agricultural Statistics
Extension, Communication and Training

Apart from this these 5 divisions, 2 sub-stations Central Rainfed Upland Rice Research Station (CRURRS) at Hazaribag, Jharkhand and Regional Rainfed Lowland Rice Research Station (RRLRRS) at Gerua, Assam and 2 Krishi Vigyan Kendras at Santhpur, Cuttack district (Orissa) and Jainagar, Koderma district (Jharkhand) are in operation.